Don’t be so quick to write that check

So, here’s an interesting lessen: Don’t pay your hospital bills quickly.

I got a call the other day from the hospital. They offered me a 25% discount on my bill if I paid by the due date (which was in a couple weeks).  Of course I said yes.

The baby’s hospital bill really is: $678.62.

Still, this medical billing remains an exercise in silliness.  No wonder why doctors and hospitals complain so much about billing.  They keep doing silly things to themselves.

2 Responses to “Don’t be so quick to write that check”


  1. 1 Tess January 29, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    Thank you for posting this! I hope you’ll keep it updated & post when you’ve finally recieved all the related bills (though I’m sure you’re busy with a new baby, Congratulations!). We’re underinsured and dreading the costs involved – your posts may help us to get a better idea what costs we’re in for. Thank you!

    • 2 underinsured January 30, 2009 at 1:03 pm

      Thanks Tess. I’ve pretty much posted all I’ve got. I settled with the hospital on the Mom’s bills for about $2500 (insurance did pay some part — about 40% of the marked up total).

      A few ideas (for whatever it’s worth):

      I suggest finding a hospital with a package for uninsured folks. I know that hospital we delivered at did have packages (about $2500 for normal delivery, $6000 for c-section). In my case, I actually ended up worse off since I had SOME insurance, but not 100% insurance (b/c of exclusions in my policy). Even on top of any package, you’ll have to pay your Doctor(s).

      Make friends with the financial aid folks at the hospital. I KNOW that I cut about $3000 from my bill just because I was nice to them and they liked me (even though it was very stressful time for me).

      To reduce stress, meet with your hospital financial aid folks or shop hospitals as far in advance as you can.

      I wish you the best of luck with your pregnancy! I’m sure it will go great. And babies are wonderful!


Leave a comment